Expert Opinion

Living on planet GARS: Lessons in how (NOT) to invest

Abraham Okusanya, June 12th, 2018

A recent article in the Guardian is the latest indictment of the Standard Life GARS fund. The fund has underperformed on virtually all imaginable benchmarks over the last three and five years.

Read More
Some thoughts on bonds…

Dominic, June 11th, 2018

Challenging times In response to the very low yield on bonds, some investors have been tempted to chase higher yielding bonds, in an attempt to squeeze some return out of what feels like an unproductive portfolio allocation. This is, unfortunately, an accident waiting to happen. The phrase ‘picking up pennies in front […]

Read More
Added security & complete focus on you

Jonathan, June 12th, 2018

We feel that by recording our interactions with you, we'll be able to increase our focus and engagement with what really matters... Your life goals.

Read More
Gifting your house

Dominic, May 30th, 2018

Inheritance tax (IHT) allowances have failed to keep pace with house prices and many more people now have to consider the IHT burden they leave to their beneficiaries.

Read More
ISA transfers: How do you move on?

Jonathan, May 29th, 2018

Sometimes, having owned your Individual Savings Account (ISA) for a few years, you might notice that the underlying investments no longer give you what you need.

Read More
Surviving inevitable market falls

Jonathan, April 15th, 2018

It is important to remember that equity market falls are an inevitable part of the process of building wealth through equity ownership. This note seeks to put market falls in perspective and offers some behavioural tips for surviving them.

Read More
Expert Wealth Organogram

Dominic, March 28th, 2018

We are delighted to bring you an Organogram displaying the structure of the staff that work here at Expert Wealth Management. This follows on from a point raised at our most recent Client Advisory Board, that knowing a little more about our organisational structure might be beneficial to our clients.

Read More
Retirement income – it all used to be so easy

Jonathan, February 9th, 2018

Thirty years ago, securing an income in retirement was relatively simple; collect years of service in the company’s pension plan (or some government pension plan for public servants) and retire on a defined percentage of your final salary. A combination of poor government policy, weak investment strategy, and rapid increases in longevity has all but destroyed this type of pension.

Read More
What Should Investors Make of Bitcoin Mania?

Dominic, January 30th, 2018

Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies are receiving intense media coverage, prompting many investors to wonder whether these new types of electronic money deserve a place in their portfolios. Cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin emerged only in the past decade. Unlike traditional money, no paper notes or metal coins are involved. No central bank issues the currency, and no regulator or nation state stands behind it.

Read More
Circles of influence & concern

David Crowe, January 1st, 2018

Your life doesn’t just “happen.” Whether you know it or not, it is carefully designed by you. The choices, after all, are yours. You choose happiness. You choose sadness.You choose ambivalence. You choose success. You choose failure. You choose courage. You choose fear. Just remember that every moment, every situation, provides a new choice.

Read More
Let me say that we are really pleased with your approach and advice. We particularly enjoy your "finance is just part of your life" philosophy, as I know that what you offer and what we buy are different. We are buying reassurance, big time (because finance is part of our lives and we only have one life). You offer your expertise, organisation, attention to detail, interpersonal skills and methodology. You are giving us reassurance, so thank you! C.L. (Oxford)
T: 01993 772467      F: 01993 775067      E: advice@expertwealth.co.uk

Expert Wealth Management, West Wing, The Old Dairy, High Cogges Farm, Witney, Oxfordshire, OX29 6UN


Your Protection: In the unlikely event of your ever having a complaint which we have not been able to resolve amicably, you have recourse to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS). This is an independent body which will investigate complaints at no cost to you.  The FOS website is www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk.