Expert Opinion

Weathering Brexit Uncertainty (or “If it ain’t broke…”)

Jonathan, September 30th, 2019

There is always a temptation to fiddle around with a portfolio’s structure to try to position it ready for potential short-term global events, such as Brexit. Investors would do well to remind themselves that the core tenets of good investing hold true through all market conditions. It is also worth remembering that the efficacy of a portfolio’s strategy should be judged not on the post-event outcome, but in terms of the quality, validity and prudence of its construction discipline in the face of future market uncertainty. Portfolios are well-structured around inalienable investment truths, particularly the value of deep diversification.

Read More
Quarterly Investment Report – June 2019

Dominic, August 6th, 2019

Welcome to our quarterly returns bulletin for the end of June. First of all, we feel we should apologise for being a little tardy with this one. Our excuse is that we have all been away on our holidays and when not doing that, busy serving our lovely clients! This month, we’re going to turn our attention to the benefits of doing nothing.

Read More
How long is long term?

Jonathan, September 23rd, 2019

For many investors – particularly those in retirement - the question ‘how long is long-term?’ could also be translated as ‘I’m getting on a bit, so should I still be investing in the stock market?’. When is comes to systematic investing – that is to say, capturing specific market risks in a disciplined and rules based manner – a subsidiary question might also be ‘should I still own value and small cap stocks, as their excess returns, relative to the market, can take some time to come through?’.

Read More
Privacy Policy Update

Marcus, July 15th, 2019

At Expert Wealth we're always working to improve the standard of our service to you. In order to better comply with a number of EU directives on digital privacy, you might have noticed a banner appear on our website advising you about our use of cookies, and encouraging you to review our privacy policy.

Read More
The Pain & Pleasure of Diversification

Dominic, June 12th, 2019

It is human nature to look at an investment that has done particularly well and wish you had been invested in it. We all risk being dragged into ‘if only’ mind games: ‘If only I had put a £10,000 into Amazon in 2003, I’d be retired by now’.  ‘If only I had bought Bitcoin at £1…’. These thoughts are dangerous to investors, as this fear of missing out (FOMO) can tempt them into taking speculative risks, often based on a rear-view mirror perspective. Concentrated risks have concentrated outcomes, both good and bad.

Read More
Enjoy yourself!

Jonathan, June 5th, 2019

The world of financial planning can be complex and technical. It's sometimes easy to lose sight of why having a financial plan is so important! We recently came across this amazing video of Doris Day, singing in the 1950's and felt it was an apt reminder of what we're trying to achieve in the Expert Wealth family. Have a look!

Read More
From early July we’ll be recording all incoming calls

Dominic, June 4th, 2019

At Expert Wealth, we're always looking for ways to improve the standard of service we offer. We would like to inform you we will begin recording all incoming calls to Expert Wealth from the end of June 2019. This will allow us to monitor the quality of service we're offering on the phone, and give you all the same security you would have when you're meeting us face to face in the office.

Read More
A ‘set-and-forget’ investment approach? Forget it!

Jonathan, April 25th, 2019

Systematic, evidence-based investing often results in very little activity in a portfolio. It is wrong to think that this is the result of a ‘set-and-forget’ strategy.

Read More
Quarterly investment report April 2019

Marcus, April 20th, 2019

If you’ve read even a few of these bulletins over the last few years, you’ll have heard this before: We don’t do market forecasts and we don’t make asset allocation decisions based on current events or economic news. We are relentlessly focussed on helping our clients capture the long term returns of […]

Read More
Markets fell in 2018 – but keep this in perspective…

Jonathan, February 4th, 2019

December 2018 dished up a rather distasteful present for the holiday period. Many lines were written in the broadsheets about the global equity market falls, but were they really anything out of the ordinary? The challenge for investors today is that they have been spoiled by the run of strong returns since the Credit Crisis, with only one down year since 2008 until, that is, 2018.

Read More
In all of our various interactions with professionals offering advice, never have we felt as comfortable as we have since we started working with EWM. It is a great service that takes the anxiety out of looking after money which, later on in life, is a gift. RB & AB
T: 01993 772467      E: advice@expertwealth.co.uk

Expert Wealth Management, West Wing, The Old Dairy, High Cogges Farm, Witney, Oxfordshire, OX29 6UN


Your Protection: In the unlikely event of your ever having a complaint which we have not been able to resolve amicably, you have recourse to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS). This is an independent body which will investigate complaints at no cost to you.  The FOS website is www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk.