Expert Opinion

Supporting Witney Foodbank During COVID-19

Dominic, May 5th, 2020

During these challenging times, many people in the Witney area are struggling to supply enough food for themselves and their families. This can be due to interruptions to regular income caused by the lock-down, delayed benefit payments or simply as a result of panic buying in our supermarkets.

Read More
Viewing your portfolio through the right lens

Marcus, April 29th, 2020

One of the positive consequences of the current lockdown is that it does provide the opportunity to revisit a few of those old tasks, hobbies and pleasures that always seem to get put on the back burner in our busy lives. For some that might be picking up a new or re-reading a favourite book. Here is an example of the latter: in the early 2000s Nassim Nicholas Taleb published a wonderful book titled ‘Fooled by Randomness’ with the descriptive sub-title ‘The hidden role of chance in life and in the markets’.

Read More
‘Vox populi’ and the wisdom of crowds

Dominic, April 16th, 2020

Many of those reading this short note will have, at some time, travelled down to Devon for a lovely summer break amongst the rolling fields, moors and beautiful beaches of this somewhat remote county. Only a few will have ventured into Plymouth, the famous naval seaport and home to Sir Francis Drake (that famous Elizabethan pirate who so vexed our Spanish friends by stealing their gold) and the site of the departure of the Mayflower with the pilgrims on board heading to America 400 years ago this year. Even fewer will know that it was the place of an amazing insight into the powerful nature of crowds, which provides us with a wonderful word picture of how markets operate.

Read More
Important Information For Our Clients (During Coronavirus)

Dominic, March 20th, 2020

We're very aware of the difficulties being faced by the world right now and the extra uncertainty that this creates for us all as individuals. You'll be aware that at Expert we consider everyone part of the family and so the safety, health & welfare of our team, clients and their families is of paramount importance to us.

Read More
Using Zoom For Client Meetings

Marcus, March 19th, 2020

In light of current events, Expert Wealth do not wish to cause further spread of the Coronavirus or risk infecting staff, clients or their families by continuing to meet face to face at this time. We will contact clients who have meetings already booked to offer a Zoom meeting or telephone call instead. Here's a handy guide to using Zoom.

Read More
Our 2019 Annual Investment Report

Marcus, February 19th, 2020

We couldn’t agree more with Paul Samuelson that an investment portfolio should aim for steady growth rather than taking risks for the chance of making gains, however exciting or tempting that may be. 2019 saw a continued trend for the UK retail market to adopt the same approach, with net outflows from active funds of £3.1bn and net inflows to passive funds of £21.5bn for the year to date at the end of October.

Read More
Taking small steps towards a more sustainable world

Dominic, February 4th, 2020

It does feel as if the world is at an inflection point: step up to the challenges of global warming and other non-sustainable pressures on the Earth’s resources today or let our children and grandchildren reap the havoc of the melting ice caps; sea water level rises; deforestation and a decline in biodiversity; desertification and the potential social and migratory upheaval that will accompany it.

Read More
Jonathan - I would like to say how much TB and I appreciated the time we spent with you yesterday. It was helpful, constructive and informative. You have a very real talent to summarise and deliver complex messages in a meaningful empathetic way. We very much look forward to taking the next steps. MB & TB (Oxfordshire)
T: 01993 772467      E: advice@expertwealth.co.uk

Expert Wealth Management, West Wing, The Old Dairy, High Cogges Farm, Witney, Oxfordshire, OX29 6UN


Your Protection: In the unlikely event of your ever having a complaint which we have not been able to resolve amicably, you have recourse to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS). This is an independent body which will investigate complaints at no cost to you.  The FOS website is www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk.