Expert Opinion

Warren Buffett: the exception who proves the rule

Dominic, July 14th, 2020

If you were asked who you thought was the world’s best investor, you might well say Warren Buffett, the Chairman and CEO of Berkshire Hathaway. That would not be an unreasonable answer, given he is worth US$ 71.5 billion today , give or take a few million for daily market movements! He is also often held up by those in support of ‘market beating’ strategies as a shining example of their creed. Over 40,000 avid followers attended the 2018 annual shareholders’ meeting, referred to by some as ‘Woodstock for capitalists’ and his style of investing is known as ‘Buffettology’, on which numerous books and articles have been penned.

Read More
Virtual Afternoon Tea Replay – Jan-Carl Plagge

Marcus, July 6th, 2020

Dominic and Marcus had the pleasure of meeting Jan-Carl Plagge a few months back at an investment conference and thought that he would make a wonderful speaker for our ongoing Virtual Afternoon Tea webinar series. In this hour-long session Jan-Carl shares some of his incredible knowledge on the topic of environmental, social […]

Read More
Virtual Afternoon Tea Replay – With Abraham Okusanya

Marcus, June 15th, 2020

We were delighted to welcome Abraham to our virtual stage to talk all things investment. Well known to the EWM Family, Abraham is the CEO of the irreverent research consultancy FinalytiQ and founder of Timeline the software that we use to help us understand and best advise our clients when to comes to drawing an income from their portfolio in retirement.

Read More
Virtual Afternoon Tea Replay – With Neil Bage

Marcus, June 12th, 2020

So to see what links armed robbery, lemon juice, photographs of Norway, Charles II and our ability to make decisions in a world increasingly full of information, be sure to catch up with this fascinating discussion below.

Read More
Putting Natural Yield Retirement Income to The Test

Abraham Okusanya, June 8th, 2020

The global lockdown continues to throw up important lessons. In particular, it’s a useful time to test one’s thesis about investing and retirement planning. I’ve always thought that a good retirement strategy should hold up, not just in good times, but especially in bad times.

Read More
Taking Steps In The Right Direction

Dominic, June 8th, 2020

Climate change, the habitat destruction of palm oil farming, ocean plastic, zero contract hours, child labour and income inequality are amongst the many challenges that we face in the world. Our attention has increasingly been drawn to the issue of ‘sustainability’ by campaigners such as Sir David Attenborough and Greta Thunberg. Most of us – in our heart of hearts – know that the human race is doing a pretty poor job at present of balancing the claims of the present on the world and its resources against the claims of future generations.

Read More
Supporting Witney Foodbank During COVID-19

Dominic, May 5th, 2020

During these challenging times, many people in the Witney area are struggling to supply enough food for themselves and their families. This can be due to interruptions to regular income caused by the lock-down, delayed benefit payments or simply as a result of panic buying in our supermarkets.

Read More
Viewing your portfolio through the right lens

Marcus, April 29th, 2020

One of the positive consequences of the current lockdown is that it does provide the opportunity to revisit a few of those old tasks, hobbies and pleasures that always seem to get put on the back burner in our busy lives. For some that might be picking up a new or re-reading a favourite book. Here is an example of the latter: in the early 2000s Nassim Nicholas Taleb published a wonderful book titled ‘Fooled by Randomness’ with the descriptive sub-title ‘The hidden role of chance in life and in the markets’.

Read More
‘Vox populi’ and the wisdom of crowds

Dominic, April 16th, 2020

Many of those reading this short note will have, at some time, travelled down to Devon for a lovely summer break amongst the rolling fields, moors and beautiful beaches of this somewhat remote county. Only a few will have ventured into Plymouth, the famous naval seaport and home to Sir Francis Drake (that famous Elizabethan pirate who so vexed our Spanish friends by stealing their gold) and the site of the departure of the Mayflower with the pilgrims on board heading to America 400 years ago this year. Even fewer will know that it was the place of an amazing insight into the powerful nature of crowds, which provides us with a wonderful word picture of how markets operate.

Read More
Terrific meeting, many thanks. We always drive back from meetings with you wishing we'd met you and Dom years ago - but at least we're with you now! RB
T: 01993 772467      E: advice@expertwealth.co.uk

Expert Wealth Management, West Wing, The Old Dairy, High Cogges Farm, Witney, Oxfordshire, OX29 6UN


Your Protection: In the unlikely event of your ever having a complaint which we have not been able to resolve amicably, you have recourse to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS). This is an independent body which will investigate complaints at no cost to you.  The FOS website is www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk.